Saturday…lake day!! But before the lake was a list of TO DOs that included an AWESOME morning workout.

The morning sweat session concluded with a total calorie burn of right at 1000. Woah. ~ What does that mean, exactly? Well, for one: it means that it was one challenging strength + cardio session, and two: that I believe the overall metabolic rate is improving…whoop, whoop! (<– This is due to the gym sessions over the past several months that have involved heavy weight supersets and circuits + high intensity cardio.) Building muscle. Burning fat. The perfect combo.

20150815-141308.jpg

If you want make progress in the gym, then you have to learn to leave your comfort zone. If the workout is hard & you feel like quitting during it, then you are probably doing it right. Don’t quit! ~ I added up the total number of burpees in my Saturday sweat session and came to 85 (45 intermixed in the strength portion of my workout & 40 total at the track where I did one lap sprint followed directly by 10 burpees x4) Do you think I like burpees? No. But do I know they get my heart rate up & are great for pushing myself just a bit more? Yes…So I do them. End of story.

Post workout was time for a little breakfast:

20150815-141401.jpg
A UMP Cookies-n-Cream protein shake made with Unsweetened Almond Coconut milk.

It was the perfect morning to do bleachers, burpees, and laps at the track; and, it was also a perfect morning to wash a car. Shined mine up both outside & inside after downing the protein shake (in about 1 minute…or less. Hah!)

I almost started whipping up a wrap for lunch around noon, falling into the same motions as always. I remembered my goal of trying to spice up my meals, then opted to go for a different lunch combo:

20150815-142001.jpg
Four egg whites with one yolk – mixed with green peppers, hot jalepenos, and tomatoes. Topped the awesome egg mixture with garlic cilantro salsa. Salad greens was the side item of choice with walnuts, craisens, and a bit of Parmesan.

Two favorites (eggs & salads) combined to make a great lunch.

The morning proved to be rather productive, which meant the afternoon could be filled with blogging, boating, and enjoying time with this gem:

20150815-142900.jpg
I love when J comes to visit!! I don’t think I ever stop smiling when she is here.

Boating is in progress as I type and it is quite relaxing.

20150815-181622.jpg
Catching rays, reading Runner’s World, and enjoying one guilt-free MUL while spending time with the family. #doesntgetmuchbetter

Hope you are enjoying your weekend. Until next time…keep the eats healthy and the workouts sweaty!

KT

