Well folks…it’s vacation!! – A whole week off and enjoying it at the beach.

florida

The ride down to Florida was a LONG one (12+ hours with pit-stops included), but the week ahead will hopefully make it all worth it. 

I am a creature of habit and person of routine, so vacations are VERY hard for me to enjoy.  I love being away from home in a new setting (an awesome condo that is beach side and beautiful), but never like the change of routine (with exercise, eating habits, and schedule) that usually accompanies a vacation. 

Day 1 of vacation started with a bit of sleeping in (until 7:30AM!!) and then gym-time.  It was hard to get up for the workout, but I knew I better start the vacation off on the right foot & was certain my mood would be 100x better if I got a good sweat in to start the day.

I found out this morning that the fitness facility at the resort is very nice – this will definitely make getting to the gym the rest of the week (for strength sessions & maybe TT) quite easy! 

image[1]

Vacation Workout – Day 1:  4 treadmill miles followed by Upper Body + Core Strength Workout

For the struggle and convincing that took place to get up and head to the gym today, I was definitely pleased with the end result of the gym session! 

attain and maintain

A Thrive shake (made using Le-Vel BOOST) with Almond/Coconut Milk and Blueberries followed the morning workout, then it was beach time.

image-02[1]

Panama City BeachThe Condo View

The day at the beach was a bit cloudy (rainy at times, even) but relaxing. The sound of the ocean…enough said.  The rest of the week looks sunny & hot – BRING IT ON!!

image-01[1]

Lunch:  Extreme Wellness Tomato Basil Wrap with Deli Turkey, Laughing Cow Pepper Jack Cheese Wedge, Avocado, and Spring Mix + Chobani 100 Calorie Pineapple Coconut Greek Yogurt

I snacked on Pistachios and a couple small home-made Granola + Coconut PB bars I made for the trip the rest of the day. 

Dinner was a garden fresh salad with oil/vinegar + pulled chicken.  And then…

ice cream on vacation

Fudge Swirl Ice Cream

Yes, Ice Cream.  Ice cream in the evenings on vacation at the beach is a tradition in this household.  We have always bought groceries for the week upon arrival to the beach; and, somehow we always wind up with a gallon of ice cream in our cart (how does this happen?!!).  Since Ice Cream is my summer-time weakness and it is vacation, I had a bowl full.  It was DELICIOUS!!  Tonight’s bowl will likely not be the only serving of ice cream I have this week.  And to that I say:

“All great things in MODERATION.”

Tomorrow is Monday and Rule #1 is ringing in my head: 

You NEVER miss a Monday! 

Looks like I will be hitting the gym in the morning (or the beach for a run + CX) for a fresh start to a week spent on the beach!  Do you have your workout on the schedule for Monday?!

excuses dont burn calories

Until next time…Keep your eats healthy & your workouts sweaty!

KT

