Race Day!! ~ Indy MINI 2014

Wake-up alarm sounded at 6.  I contemplated whether or not to have a THRIVE shake before the race…so, I met in the middle and made a mini Shake!  I used only almond milk and frozen strawberries (left out the yogurt…dairy) and only added 1/2 the THRIVE packet. 

The corrals were a mad-house once I got to down-town Indy.  I had intentions of meeting up with a few other runners once I got to my start corral; however, with the thousands and thousands of people everywhere, I could not manage to find them.  As my corral started moving to the start-line, I had to get a different mind-set when I realized I was going to be solo for 13.1 milesA first for me!  Every doubt ran through my mind in those last minutes before crossing the start line.  I was definitely worried about making it 13 miles without anyone next to me for motivation.  With one minute to go before the clock started, I got-it-together.  I started thinking about the positives and told myself to make the best of it!! photo1 (28)

Finish time:  1:55:34.  Goal time:  1:58:00  ~ Goal = Met…Whoop whoop!

Overall, the run was better than expected.  It was my best experience at the Indy MINI yet.  The weather was perfect, the legs were fresh, and the mind-set was ‘I GOT THIS!’ throughout the entire race (after I got over the starting line!!)

i kicked some serious ass

Once I crossed the finish-line, I munched on:

photo2 (29)

Mini CLIF Bar: Chocolate Chip ~ it tasted AWESOME!!

After snapping a few pics, changing clothes, and resting under a shade tree for a bit, it was time to grab some celebratory eats for re-fueling.  We decided on a small restaurant located in downtown Indy called Bru Brothers.

photo4 (18)

Gorgonberry Salad:  It had Gorgonzola cheese + Craisens, bacon, house dressing, and topped with DELICICOUS grilled chicken.

The salad was the perfect choice.  It hit.the.spot.  So did the big glass of H2O I ordered.  I think I was more thirsty than hungry, really.

Dinner tonight was not quite as healthy as lunch.  I am staying at my sister’s for the weekend, and they had a Pacer Party this evening to watch the game.  I filled up on veggies and ranch dip made with Greek yogurt, then made my plate (s):

photo2 (30) 

Taco Dip with Tortilla Chips (2 helpings of this)

photo3 (26)

Hot Chicken Bites (4), Pasta Salad (delish!), Fresh Fruit, and a Mini Carrot Cake Muffin (3…two followed this first one!)

And because I burned roughly 1500 calories on the RUN this morning (can I get a whoop whoop!!), I am not too worried about my eats today.  Running 13.1 entitles you to enjoy what you want for a day, I suppose. 

photo1 (31)

That made tonight a GUILT-FREE Wine Night! ~ I enjoyed a nice glass of Cabernet Souvignon…two, actually.

Overall, it was the best Saturday I have had in long time!  I am happy with my finish and the fact that I achieved my goal.  Now, what next?  I will sleep on that.

Have a great weekend.  Be sure to keep your eats healthy & get in at least one good sweat-session!!

Until next time ~

success

Best,

KT

