Monday & Tuesday ~

The only good thing that came from my Monday was a 5 mile treadmill run I completed before starting work in order to clear my head. ~ To lose someone you have a strong connection with, be it past or present, is a tough thing to deal with.  It is what I have been struggling with since Saturday.  SO many emotions.  Running is the one thing that has felt good.  On Monday morning, I had the gym all to myself and pounded out the miles as I wiped away tear after tear with my sweat towel.  I felt like I could run all day, as it was helping me deal with my many thoughts and emotions — that is the good thing about running.  It can always help you with problems because it gives you ample thinking time.

challenges2

Today was not much easier for me, emotionally.  I had to put in a full day at the Y regardless of if I felt like it or not, so I started my day with a THRIVE Shake to help get me going. 

image (5)

THRIVE SHAKE with Strawberries + Unsweetened Almond Milk

I worked for a bit this morning before taking a break for Yoga.  I thought it may help me feel better.  It did help me some, but during times in the practice I would find my eyes swelling up with tears.  I just could not stop them.

Lunch at the Y was:

apple

A Honeycrisp Apple

think thin

thinkThin Brownie Crunch Protein Bar

I left the Y this afternoon to attend the showing for my friend.  It was tough.  I keep reminding myself that God has a plan for each of us, and that everything happens on his time. 

god's plan 

Once I returned to the Y, I had to put my ‘strong’ face back on and act as though all was great in my life.  I am at the Y to help others feel good about themselves and encourage them.  When I walk in the door, I leave my struggles outside to pick up when I leave.  I am focused on the needs of others during my time at the Y ~ I am there to provide them with a positive attitude and encouraging words.  Tonight, I tried to do my best given my current circumstances. 

What I strive to do each day at the Y:

be strong  be the reason

My CX class was full of new participants, which I am always excited about.  Right after CX, I jumped into my New Year, New You program.  Tonight the group discussed Simple vs. Complex Carbs, then got in a great circuit workout.  All of them have lost weight since the program started two weeks ago.  One participant has lost almost 10 pounds.  I am beyond excited & proud of her.  She is committed to succeed and achieve her weight-loss goals while changing her old habits into healthy, new ones.  I told her tonight:  “You have to remember…it is NOT a diet, it is a LIFESTYLE.  It’s not 8 weeks and go back to old habits.  It is 8 weeks of creating a new healthy lifestyle that you will maintain from here on out.”

may8

Dinner this evening happened after coming home from the Y.  It was a late one…around 8:30 by the time I got home and quickly prepared it.

image (6)

Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

image (4)

Salad with Romaine Lettuce, Asian Slaw, Green Onion, Pepper, Cheese (Reserve Blend) and Craisens

Since I had snacked on Pistachios during my short break between CX and New Year, New You class this evening, I opted to leave the nuts of off my salad.

Tomorrow is a new day, and will be another challenging one.  At times like this, I sometimes feel like using ‘food’ as my out.  The term would be ‘emotional eating.’   This time, I am not going to let my struggles derail me.  I am strong enough to battle my emotions without having to turn to food.  I will instead turn to running, or yoga, or my friends. 

Have a wonderful Wednesday, everyone & try to keep it HEALTHY.  Think about incorporating things that are FRESH, GREEN, and RAW into your eating plans tomorrow.  And, do NOT forget to get sweaty by getting in a great mid-week workout session. make time for it

Until next time ~

iron shapens iron

Best,

KT

