This morning I woke up refreshed and ready to jump out of bed at 7! I wanted to put on my running clothes & hit the road, but there was a slight problem…it was still dark outside.  Decided I should postpone the run until the sun was out & shining. 

Made a little breakfast this morning – 35 calorie wheat toast with SF Jelly. Kept it light because I hate running with food in my belly, but knew I needed to eat something. Will be super happy when I can re-incorporate the Greek Yogurt into my breakfast game-plan! I hope that will be soon!

Did some XOCAI business this morning & put all my scheduled working days and times into my phone, then put the running gear on & went to pound out some miles on the pavement. 

The running route ~ from my house out to my mom’s office to drop some keys off, then on out to FedEX.  On the way back I stopped by my grandma’s house (she lives close to FedEX) & went in for a quick bit to wipe the sweat dripping off my face & down some water before starting the trek back home. 

Total run/walk time was 1 hour and 35 minutes, roughly 7.5 miles.   The weather was absolutely perfect for a run & my music made it even better!

My run basically consisted of listening to three songs over & over & over!

1. Ass Back Home  by Gym Class Heros

2. Starships by Nicki Minaj

         and my favorite at the moment….

3. What Makes You Beautiful by One Direction

one direction

seriously listened to this song at least 12 times. Not Joking.

Lunch after my run was….

thursday march 22 001

Cookies n Cream Protein Shake made with water.  The protein is WHEY protein isolate & I shouldn’t have had it because it is dairy, but I drank it anyways because my muscles were needing to be replenished after such a great run.  They were worn out.  I didn’t use as much powder as I usually do — and didn’t eat any other dairy the rest of the day.  So whatev…it tasted great & I’m glad I had it! I also munched on 2 Powerballs.

Later in the day I went back out to my Nanny’s and took ‘Sophie-Butt’ with me to visit.  Nanny offered me some of her DELICIOUS homemade Veggie Soup & I just couldn’t turn it down, so I opted to have a small bowl of it.  I hadn’t eaten a serving of her veggie soup since I’d been at school, so it tasted AMAZING.  Forgot to snap a pic of it, though.

When Soph and I got back home, we did some more computer tasks & read a little ‘Made to Crave.’

made to crave 001

The title of the chapter was “But Exercise Makes Me Want to Cry” – At first, I thought to myself ‘this chapter isn’t going to apply to me much, because I love exercise!’ however, it was a GREAT chapter that I learned multiple things from.

Here is an exert from the chapter, the parts I enjoyed most:

“Teach me your way, O LORD, and I will walk in your truth; give me an undivided heart, that I may fear your name.  I will praise you, O LORD my God, with all my heart; I will glorify your name forever” (Psalm 86: 11-12).  — An undivided heart.  That’s what my whole journey in conquering my cravings was about.  When it comes to my body, I can’t live with divided loyalties.  I can either be loyal to honoring the Lord with my body or loyal to my cravings, desires, and many excuses for not exercising.” 

“Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price.  Therefore honor God with your body” (1 Corinthians 6:19)

‘May I admit something very strange to you?  I’m actually thankful now that I have a body and a metabolism that requires me to exercise.  I’ve given careful thought to my ways & determined that taking care of my temple (she is referring to her body here) is a top priority.  I schedule it.  I’m held accountable to each day’s appointment because I my friend Holly will be calling me if I don’t show up (for our morning run).  I’ve learned to embrace the benefits instead of resisting the hardship.  And though I never thought I’d say this, I love the feeling of accomplishment running gives me each day.  Even if everything else in my day falls apart, I can smile and say, “Yes, but with the Lord’s help, I ran four miles this morning!” 

I packed my dinner for work tonight since I had to be there from 3-9 this evening.  Lunch box was stocked with the following:

thursday march 22 004

Hearty Whole Wheat WASA Crackers …didn’t touch these, though

thursday march 22 005 

A Yummy Naner…I definitely ate this.

thursday march 22 006

Raw Broccoli with FF Fiesta Ranch Dip…ate a little of this

thursday march 22 007

Nut and Craisen mix…ate some of this

Before I left for work I opted to eat a snack because I knew I wouldn’t be able to touch anything I packed until at least 7 or so when things at the Y tend to slow down.

thursday march 22 003

I munched on a few grapes

thursday march 22 009

Fixed 35 calorie Wheat Toast with Natural PB on half & SF Jelly on all

What isn’t pictured tonight that I ended up having while at the Y…

subway

Ate a  3” Turkey sub on whole wheat bread

It was left over from a Board meeting they had tonight!  I was so pumped when they had extras because Subway sounded de-lish!

Work was  busy tonight, but it was fun!  I saw so many people & met one of the Midwest YMCA Head Leaders who attended the Board meeting.  His name was Wade & he had traveled to the Y from Champaign, IL.   He was so kind & made my night because he kept calling me ‘Superstar!’ for no reason.  LOL.   He knew how to put a lasting smile on my face ~ Made for an even better night at the Y!

When I got home tonight, I enjoyed the same snack as last night…Puffins & Dark Chocolate Chips. I opened the box of Puffins I had bought from Meijer & it was even more ‘peanut buttery’ than my last box, which was AWESOME! 

Hope you all had a wonderful Thursday.  All we have left is Friday then it’s the WEEKEND!

The PINTEREST MI that will take you into your Friday with the right mind-set.

stronger

Do something in your workout tomorrow that you think you cannot do, & I bet you find that you really can DO IT!

thur march 22

This one just made me say HAH! out loud

Best,
KT