Lenten season is upon us & I am Catholic.  As such, I choose not to eat meat on the Friday’s during Lent.  Therefore, it was really hard to look at the tasty deli healthy choice sliced turkey my mom brought home from the store today.  It looked so YUMMY!, but I couldn’t even taste it.  I don’t eat much meat, but I do like to snack on deli style turkey & will eat grilled chicken occasionally for supper.  I suppose I’ll have to wait until tomorrow to sample it. 

I managed to wake up early enough to eat breakfast & allow it time to digest before having to be at the YMCA, which made me super HAPPY!  I want to start implementing a new routine of sitting down at the table for a breakfast of some sort before I leave each morning.  I well know & preach that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, but ever since I started doing morning workouts, I’ve not been a fan of breakfast.  Why?  Mainly because I like exercising on an empty stomach…another no, no.  But I do it anyways. ~ However, hoping to change that in the next few weeks. 

Breakfast this morning was the other half of the PIneapple Greek Yogurt I had yesterday with some additional Blurps & Blueberries added to the mix…such a creature of habit.  When I find something I like to eat, I tend to eat it routinely.  Another no, no.  Variation is important for a healthy lifestyle/diet, so I’m currently working on that, also. 

friday march 16 blog pics 001

I taught my first ‘Get on the Ball’ class this morning (aka = the Butt & Gut class) and it was SO MUCH FUN!  I felt like I got an even better work-out when I was teaching it vs. just taking the class.  I love it because it is all about toning your butt and your ABS using a stability ball.  Good stuff!

I also opted for a strength training workout in the fitness center after the class ended.  Saving my cardio for a long run tomorrow (need it for mini-preparation).  I focused mainly on my arms, butt, and thighs.  I also did the awesome oblique exercise on the CYBEX! It is quickly becoming one of my new favorite exercises.  If you missed out on it last time, here is a re-cap pic:

blog pics for monday march 12 001

I have been adding in another arm exercise recently that I always used to do at The Village Crimson Fitness center at IU —  It was the gym at the apartment complex I lived at during undergrad @ IU.  I was probably in that place more than my apartment half the time, because it was such a nice facility & hardly anyone used it.  So it was liking having my own gym! No one being there could be due to the fact that I used to do the majority of my workouts at about 10 or 11 pm, and some nights even later!  It pumped me up & gave me the energy I needed to stay up into the early morning hours getting all my studies done! 

However, I am such a morning exerciser now that I couldn’t imagine trying to go back to that routine.  Weird how things change. – Anyways, I sit on the stability ball & use the 6-8 lbs. weighted medicine ball.  I toss it back and forth from one hand to the other.  I say ‘toss’, but it is more like ‘chuck!’ it into the opposite hand as hard as possible. Using as much force as I can muster.  I usually try to do different variations for an entire song on my pod.  I had forgotten all about how I used to do it religiously until the other day, so I am looking forward to incorporating it into my gym routine from now on!  Maybe it will help me get some definition back in these arms!  haha.

After the strength workout I downed a Cookies & Cream protein shake that I used skim milk to mix.  It was so tasty!  It is starting to rank right up there with my Shakeology! I love them both!  I must have needed more refueling than that, because I belly called for some carbs not long after I got home (you know me).  I opted for the other half of the English muffin I had yesterday.  I toasted it & added SF Jelly to it…just like before.  Creature of habit…Ugh. 

Since that time I’ve downed WATER & munched on two of those little ‘healthified’ oatmeal cookies I whipped up yesterday.  I’ve also managed to sneak a few malted chocolate eggs my mom has sitting out on the kitchen table. 

more friday march 16 001

They just looked too tempting to pass up today  (probably because it’s Friday…a bit of a lax day for me sometimes).  I hate when holidays roll around because Mom is always buying holiday candy to display in our clear little candy jar she puts out on the table.  My motto is ‘out of sight & out of mind’ …kind of hard to keep those eggs out of mind when they are clearly visible in the little clear container on our table.  so I gave in & had just a few today. 

more friday march 16 003

Moderation is key, so I stopped at that.  Good thing, because they sure don’t rank anywhere close to the top on the list of ‘Healthy Eats!’

Check out this book a friend of mine gave me not long ago…it is called ‘Live Good.’

friday march 16 blog pics 006

It is a great motivator for me.  I found two different pages this morning that I want to share with you: 

friday march 16 blog pics 002  friday march 16 blog pics 003

This is the first one:  Find Your Passion! ~ the quote says              “You’re only given a little spark of madness.  You mustn’t lose it.”

friday march 16 blog pics 004  friday march 16 blog pics 005

The second one: Embrace Change! ~ the quote says                       “Growth means change & change involves risk, stepping from the known to the unknown.”

I’ll let you begin your weekend with those in mind!  I am off to Indy to visit the BEST SISTER IN THE WORLD! and her husband Bennie & little pup Lil.  I cannot wait.  SUPER EXCITED!  I also will get to see Megan while I’m there & possibly a few other friends.  We are planning a run for tomorrow since we are both training for the Indy mini.  I need her to motivate me!  Buddy long runs are always best!

Enjoy your weekend.  Keep it healthy & keep it active. 

Best,

KT